Cine Qua Non Lab is pleased to announce the participants selected for its 2020 Script Revision Lab.

The Script Revision Lab gives independent filmmakers from around the world the opportunity to work intensively on their feature‑length narrative scripts in an environment structured to foster professional collaboration and high-quality script development.

The Script Revision Lab will have two editions: one in English and one in Spanish. The lab will be held online and will have a total duration of three weeks. The lab sessions will take place between October 20th and November 30th, 2020, with a follow-up session.

The Script Revision Lab is a recipient of the prestigious FilmCraft grant from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences—Oscars® and is supported by the Mexican Film Institute (IMCINE). Thanks to this support, all applicants accepted to the lab will be offered a grant which will reduce their participation fee.

The English edition of the Script Revision Lab will be facilitated by Pavel Jech and Simone Ling. The Spanish edition will be facilitated by Helena Medina and David Muñoz Pantiga.

As part of its partnership with the Tribeca Film Institute (TFI), Cine Qua Non Lab selected the TFI-supported project Neon Tilapia, by Tony Koros, for a spot in the English edition of its Script Revision Lab. As part of its partnership with the Bogotá Audiovisual Market (BAM), Cine Qua Non Lab selected the project Donde comienza el río, by Juan Andrés Arango, for the Spanish edition of its Script Revision Lab. The Brazilian project Interior, by Teodoro Poppovic, is participating in the Spanish edition of the Script Revision Lab as part of Cine Qua Non Lab’s collaboration with Projeto Paradiso. The other Brazilian projects selected for the lab have also received support from Projeto Paradiso.

The participants in the 2020 Script Revision Lab come from Australia, Brazil, Chile, China, Colombia, the Dominican Republic, Kenya, Mexico, Pakistan, Poland, Saudi Arabia, Taiwan, the United States of America and Venezuela, and were selected based on the quality, freshness and originality of their projects. Below is the list of the participants and their projects:

Script Revision Lab in English

Giuliana Monteiro (Brazil) — Estrada para Livramento (Road to Livramento)

Guilherme Soares Zanella (Brazil) — The Rough Life of the Heavenly Animals

Hannah Moore (Australia) — Habeas

Khaula Malik (Pakistan/USA) — Mahram

Tony Koros (Kenya) — Neon Tilapia

Waleed Alqahtani (Saudi Arabia) — Amal

* * *

Damiana Acuña (Mexico) — Aurum

Eliza Subotowicz (Poland) — Maja and the Ghosts

Georgia Fu (USA/Taiwan) — Approximate Joy

Pedro Coutinho (Brazil) — King Crab

Peier «Tracy» Shen (China) — A Graduation

Via Bia (USA) — The Radish Baby

Script Revision Lab in Spanish

Alejandra Wills (Colombia) — Un cielo abierto

Constanza Majluf (Chile) — Marcia Marcela

Isabel Cristina Fregoso (Mexico) — El silencio del sendero

José Pablo Escamilla (Mexico) — Adiós a Satán

Juan Andrés Arango (Colombia) — Donde comienza el río

Pablo Lozano (Dominican Republic) — El protocolo

* * *

Ángela Tobón Ospina (Colombia) — El pabellón de los aburridos

Gabylu Lara (Mexico) — El monstruo del olvido

Jesús Torres Torres (Mexico) — El fuego que engulle la sangre

Joanna Cristina Nelson (Venezuela) — Hambre

Luis García Díaz (Colombia) — Son las penas

Teodoro Poppovic (Brazil) — Interior